Heisman Trophy winners list: All 86 players to take home college football’s most prestigious award

Brad Penner / USA TODAY Sports

The Heisman Trophy ceremony is Saturday, Dec. 11, and unlike last year the finalists are invited to New York for the festivities. COVID-19 forced the 2020 event to go virtual.

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young, Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud and Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett were named Heisman finalists on Monday and are all vying for the 87th trophy. 

The three-to-one quarterback ratio isn’t surprising given the Heisman’s history. Quarterbacks have won the trophy 18 times over the last 21 years. 

What is surprising, however, is the quarterbacks’ experience. Young would be the fifth sophomore to win a Heisman – and first since Lamar Jackson in 2016 – while Stroud would join Johnny Manziel and Jameis Winston as the only freshmen to do so.

Another rarity – to say the least – would be a defensive player in Hutchinson winning the Heisman. Only one defender has won the Heisman, and, coincidentally, it was another Wolverine. Defensive back Charles Woodson won the trophy in 1997, but he also returned punts and played offensive snaps that season. 

A Heisman win for Stroud or Young would also be historically significant for their programs. Ohio State would pass Oklahoma and Notre Dame for the most Heisman winners ever with eight, and Alabama would hold sole possession of fifth place with four winners – all of which will have come since Mark Ingram in 2009. 

The Heisman Trophy ceremony will take place Saturday at…


Read More

You might like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.