Bryce Young wins Maxwell and Davey O’Brien

Bryce Young solidified his status as the favorite for the Heisman Trophy on Thursday night.

The Alabama quarterback won the Maxwell Award for best player in college football and Davey O’Brien Award for best QB ahead of a likely Heisman Trophy win on Saturday. Young is a massive favorite for the award among the four finalists. His odds at BetMGM are at -5000. 

Young is 314-of-462 passing for 4,322 yards and 43 TDs with just four interceptions in his first season as Alabama’s starting QB. He’s also scored three rushing touchdowns.

Young was pivotal in Alabama’s comeback win in the Iron Bowl over Auburn in the final week of the regular season and threw for 421 yards and three touchdowns in Alabama’s SEC championship game win over Georgia. That victory got Alabama the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff.

The Heisman on Saturday night will go to either Young, Pitt QB Kenny Pickett (+3000), Ohio State QB C.J. Stroud (+1600) or Michigan DL Aidan Hutchinson (+1600). 

Dec 4, 2021; Atlanta, GA, USA; Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback Bryce Young (9) leaves the field with the most valuable player trophy after defeating the Georgia Bulldogs in the SEC championship game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Alabama won 41-24. Mandatory Credit: Gary Cosby Jr.-USA TODAY Sports

Maxwell winner has won the Heisman 6 of past 7 seasons

A Heisman win for Young would give Alabama back-to-back Heisman winners after DeVonta Smith won the award in 2020. And the Maxwell winner typically wins the Heisman Trophy. Smith and Joe Burrow (2019) each won the Maxwell and Heisman in the past two seasons. 

Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa won the Maxwell in 2018 while Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray won the Heisman. But the four Heisman winners before Murray each won the Maxwell Award before getting the Heisman.

Aidan Hutchinson doesn’t win defensive awards

Georgia DL Jordan…


Read More

You might like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *