2021 Heisman Trophy winner: Alabama QB Bryce Young takes award, Tide become sixth team to go back-to-back

CBS Sports graphic

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young has won the 2021 Heisman Trophy, giving the program back-to-back winners and four overall in program history, all of which have come since 2009 under coach Nick Saban. Young is the first Crimson Tide quarterback to take home college football’s top honor.

A sophomore, Young won the award by a sizable margin over Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, Pittsburgh QB Kenny Pickett and Ohio State QB C.J. Stroud for the Heisman, the other three finalists. Hutchinson became the third defensive player to finish second in the Heisman voting and the latest since Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o in 2012. Te’o finished with 1,706 points — just 323 behind winner Johnny Manziel — and 321 first-place votes. 

Young had a truly masterful season for the Tide, leading them to a 12-1 record and SEC Championship Game victory. Alabama enters the forthcoming College Football Playoff as the No. 1 seed. Young ranks fourth nationally with 4,322 yards passing and trails only Western Kentucky’s Bailey Zappe with 43 passing touchdowns. 

Heisman winners require Heisman moments, and Young was the linchpin of Alabama’s run to a playoff berth. He saved his signature performances for the biggest stages. Young led an incredible 97-yard fourth-quarter touchdown drive in the Iron Bowl to take Auburn to overtime, a game Alabama eventually won 24-22. One week later, against Georgia in the SEC title game, Young completed 26 of 44 passes for 421 yards and three touchdowns against the top…


Read More

You might like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *